Zucchini Taco Boats 

   One of my exes is basically the whole Mexican food category involving yummy tortilla chips, crispy taco shells and fluffy flour tortillas. Sure, I can still have those things in moderation, but sometimes our will power is super strong and we want to go balls to the wall healthy so we substitute these things for fresh, nature made crap like zucchini  (I kid! Zucchini isn’t crap, buy it’s like a 1980’s Casio keyboard where the vessels for delicious Mexican food filling is a full on Grand Piano on which Elton John is playing Crocodile Rock).

   I have seen so many variations of this “zucchini boat” movement and since my newfound love (okay, learning to love) affair with the squash, these dishes look really appetizing. 

   My wonderful trucking hubby cut and gutted two zucchini for me and had 1 lb taco seasoned ground turkey cooking in the Aroma. I took over from there and diced 3 small sweet peppers, 1/2 an onion and added 1 can black beans to the pot and a dash of Tajin (it has a better kick than actual taco seasoning) once the meat was cooked. While letting all the flavors meld together, the zucchini had a seat in the steamer tray and softened just slightly. After 10 minutes, I scooped the mixture into the zucchini boats, added a sprinkle of shredded cheese and placed them back in the steamer tray to melt the cheese. 

   I was expecting to not be excited for this one but it was awesome! The seasoned mixture took away the vegetable-y taste of zucchini and while there was a soft snap to the squash as I bit into it, it wasn’t overpowering. I am looking forward to trying the variations of this dish soon!

   The whole process was easy and fairly quick, so making this on the truck was no hassle at all!

Leave a Reply

