Cauliflower Pizza Casserole 

   I’ve been experimenting with cauliflower over thel last couple of months now, a vegetable that I have never thought I would have in my diet, let alone eat a few times a week. As we were driving down the road, I had a vision of creating a dish with fresh cauliflower and seeing billboards for pizza joints, it just came together. 

   My husband bought one of those hand crank choppers and it turned cauliflower into cauli rice amazingly. A plus with making your own cauli rice is the amount of water you won’t have to worry about. My husband also used a piece of cheese cloth to wring out any excess water so we were left with a wonderful base for our dish.

It looks beautiful, but totally smells like farts.

I added 2 tsp of Italian seasoning, 1/4 cu parmesan and 2 tsp minced garlic to the bowl and stirred well to incorporate evenly.

In to the Aroma Pot went the seasoned Cauliflower Rice. I lightly  flattened it down and made sure it was even. 

The other players in the Cauli Pizza Game included 1/2 jar pizza sauce (which had less carbs & sugar than spaghetti sauce),  1 cu shredded cheese, turkey pepperoni and sliced black olives. I also added sliced banana pepper pieces as the last minute that we had on hand. 

When the construction of our casserole was complete, I set on “steam” for 10 minutes

Once the cheese was melted, I let set for 5 minutes before serving.

This dish was very good and although it doesn’t take the place of a nice slice of thick crust pizza, it did satisfy my craving for now. 

Leave a Reply

