Cheeseburger Casserole in the Aroma Cooker


   Two nights ago I tried something brand new to my taste buds; a Cauliflower Mac ‘N Cheese. I had to tweak a recipe I found on Pinterest since theirs was cooked on a stove and in an oven. My final result was a terribly soupy cauliflower cheese concoction with broccoli added (because it was already bad, why not make it worse?)

   We have been using riced cauliflower in a bag which can be found in the frozen vegetable section of the supermarket. I chose to use a bag of that for my cheeseburger casserole as opposed to steaming a head of cauliflower and chopping it up as I had done for the mac and cheese.

I started by crisping up some pre-cooked bacon in my lunchbox cooker and Browning half a pound of ground turkey in my aroma on the steam setting (recipe calls for 1.5 lb but sincei t was just the two of us, I made less. Once my turkey was cooked I added two teaspoons of minced garlic and dehydrated onion as well as a dash of salt and pepper. Essentially I was only making one third of the recipe that I had pulled from Pinterest so I tried to divide the other ingredients as best I could.

I removed the ground turkey with a slotted spoon so that the juices remained in the Aroma pot and I added two tablespoons of coconut flour as well as two tablespoons of light butter. My Aroma was still on the steam setting so it was cooking a little hotter than it should have been. I added one cup of heavy cream and two tablespoons of yellow mustard  and whisk gingerly until it was smooth. I turned off the Aroma and removed all but a thin layer of the sauce and set aside. I added the bag of Cauliflower Rice and leveled it out, followed by a layer of shredded cheddar and the ground turkey. I then drizzled half of the remaining sauce, followed by another layer of cheese and the rest of the sauce. The recipe said to add crumbled back to the top before cooking. I reserved a few pieces to put on afterward because I like my bacon crispy. I set the Aroma on “steam” for 8 minutes and it was done!
This dish totally made up for the disappointment from the night before! It was low carb and a hit for both my husband and me. 

Leave a Reply

