Almond Flour Pancakes

   So we know that we’re in the “low carb” zone and have adapted well, but Eggplant Lasagna, Zoodles, Cauliflower Rice and Pasta Zero can get a little old. Quite frankly, I have missed flour based foods and while I don’t feel comfortable doing a “cheat day”, I am more than okay substituting things to achieve a healthier, lower carb dish. 

   I scoured the web for the words “almond flour pancakes with baking powder” after stumbling upon almond flour as a lower carb alternative. Why did I choose those search words? Well, while we were in the grocery store on home time, my husband had the phone and I asked him to look for a recipe with almond flour. He found one that called for milk, baking powder and the flour and then he didn’t save the page!

   We don’t have a lot of baking supplies and most other recipes called for things we did not have. I found one with baking powder and felt I could alter it enough with the ingredients I had and it wouldn’t be the worst thing I’ve ever made.

http://www.theroastedroot.net/almond-flour-pancakes-2/  (here is the link).
My Recipe for Almond Flour Pancakes:

2 cu. Almond Flour

1/4 tsp. Salt

2 tsp. Baking Powder

3/4 cu. Wipping Cream (hubby wanted it)
2 Eggs

1 tsp. Vanilla Extract 

Mixing the Ingredients: 

I cracked two eggs into a large bowl, added whipping cream and vanilla and mixed it with an electric whisk. I then added the dry ingredients. 

Cooking:

I set my Aroma Rice Cooker to “steam” and used a little butter on a paper towel to grease the bottom of the pot. I recruited my 1/4 cu measuring cup to pour the batter into the Aroma and used the bottom edge of the cup to spread out the batter a little. I then closed the lid and let it cook for about 5 minutes and once it started to get puffy, I flipped the pancake and only had to cook about 3 minutes on the other side. (My Aroma did turn off a few times which it does sometimes so it won’t overheat).

And this is the beautiful result! The top is a sort of compote my husband made.

How to make the Berry Topping:

My husband took 1 bag of frozen berries and poured them into a bowl and used a stick blender to turn them into a liquid with very little chunks left. He poured this into an aluminum loaf pan and warmed it in the Lunchbox Oven. I poured 2 tsp of berry mixture onto the pancake.

As the original recipe stated, it is totally a nutty flavor due to the flour just being ground up almonds and both my trucker and I loved it. I saw some recipes where people used regular syrup or even agave. The lightness of the berries really complimented the flavor and texture of the pancake.

Leave a Reply

