Taco Rice Bowl

   Okay, I’m going to level with you, I don’t measure things very often when I make something up. I tend to taste test throughout the process. However, I can give you a close measurment but I strongly suggest altering to your preference.  This is super filling and super easy to make all in the Aroma cooker. When I started out, I didn’t know this monster would grow into nearly fifteen cups.

image

I cooked 1 lb of ground beef on the white rice setting.

image

I added a lot of taco seasoning (I’d say about 3 tbsp)and stired it up.

image

So my mom gave me a giant can of diced tomatoes during our last home time and I hate tomatoes but felt terrible at the idea of throwing it away. This was the perfect dish to add about a 1/4 cup and the extra juice I could spoon out. (If you love tomatoes, add to your heart’s content). I let it set for about 5 minutes and then removed the meat from the Aroma as well as most of the meat juice (Okay, I see you’re laughingn at me. What do you call it?)

image

I kept in the bits from the meat at the bottom of the pan and measured in about 3 cups of water and the remaining white rice I had. (This part is easy, follow Aroma instructions on how to cook rice on the white rice setting.) Since I used the grease from the ground beef, I needed no butter! I sprinkled in 2 tsp of taco seasoning for good measure and set the white rice setting and let it complete a full cycle.

image

Once the rice was done, I added 1 can each of fire roasted corn, pinto beans and black beans (all liquid was drained) and mixed together.

image

I then added the ground beef back to the pot and gave it a good stir. At this point, I added about 1/2 cup sour cream but forgot to add the picture. I also added several shakes of hot sauce to add a little spice.

image

Top with cheese of your choice (I’m not the boss of you, I’m not going to tell you exactly how much cheese you can have!) Let this baby melt (which I did on white rice for about 15 minutes).

image

And because I’m perfectly imperfect, this is what it looked like as leftovers today with a bit of crumbled bacon on top because I am an adult and allowed to make terrible life choices.

Cooking on the truck is not glamorous, especially when contending with bumpy roads and minimal work space, but when you can just dump a bunch of stuff together in one pot (along with some spices), it makes meal preparation easy.

Leave a Reply

