Cherokee Trading Post

The oversized sign stands majestically on the westbound side of I-40 in Clinton, Oklahoma at mile marker 71 calling travelers to stop in and take a look at souvenirs and Native American items but the real attraction for this trucker’s wife were the pair of buffalo that call The Cherokee Trading Post their home.

image

image

We have passed by this location a handful of times before and from the roadway, I have seen tiny figures grazing but I have never seen buffalo up close before.

image

There is ample truck parking which is always a plus for us.

image

The building houses a large variety of Native American collectibles, Oklahoma and route 66 souvenirs as well sparkling displays of silver and turquoise jewelry. But I do have to say, the buffalo were my favorite part.

image

image

While I would rather see buffalo out in the wild (at a safe enough distance, of course), having them behind a fence offered the opportunity for me to get up close and see their enormity.

image

The pair (one male and one female) seemed slightly interested in their human visitors, but continued to graze as I softly called to them and complimented their beauty. I chose to stay back from the gate to respect their home but sure wish I could have gotten a photo without the fence between the buffalo and my camera.

image

image

image

James stood up on a teal painted cement block to try and get a better picture for me. The buffalo came to inspect his intrusion.

image

Leave a Reply

