VA, NC, SC

I have an affinity for 70’s and 80’s Country music. When I first became a “trucker’s wife” (my husband was in CDL training), I turned to Alabama’s ‘Roll On’, a song I often heard as a child and remembered fondly. In my Alabama Radio playlist on Pandora, Alabama was accompanied by Oakridge Boys, Bellamy Brothers and Lynard Skynard; the sweet songs of the South. The descriptive melodies of rivers, mountains and down home life enveloped me like a comfy quilt that could have been passed down for generations. The idea of small town life was so appealing to this California girl and when I got the opportunity to travel to the Southeast with my husband, those songs did not let me down. I fell in love with the emerald hills and the small dated homes with wooden porches and tire swing trees.
One of my favorite delights is rolling the windows all the way down on the less traveled roads of Virginia and relishing in the quiet stillness of the Earth (with the exception of the somewhat mighty roar of our Freightliner). As our eighteen wheels rolled down the asphalt, I would declare every other house or plot of land the perfect place for us to raise a family.

image

image

image

The Carolinas bring continuous beauty and quiet life. What I have seen more of in the Carolinas are brick houses which stand so sturdy and have the added touches of white trim and black shutters decorating the frames of windows. And those trees! Oh, those sturdy shade trees with low hanging branches are breathtaking. I have yet to try Carolina barbecue, but it is so high up on my list.

image

I must say, aside from the humid weather in South Carolina, I am so glad that I love this state because it is so dear to my husband. He spent a very important part of his adolescence in Columbia and has told me all about it (many many times). Although I have been here before, this time we came from a different direction and saw new sights. I know I have not experienced the worst weather in South Carolina, but as we were leaving, a mighty storm picked up and we drove through some of the worst weather I have ever been in. James drove like a true professional, but being out on the Interstate in such a large vehicle, you feel so exposed to the whipping wind and the sound of hard rain echoes off of the massive metal roof. Once the rain had subsided, I was able to fully enjoy our travels again.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

