KY, CO, WY, NV

As we made our way back West, I was very excited to travel through Kansas, a state I had yet been to. We saw billboard signs advertising many buildings and attractions with Wizard of Oz themed names. We did encounter some beautifully contrasting skies and I had a hint of excitement with a dash of apprehension at the idea of being caught in a tornado.

image

image

But we stayed grounded and continued on to Colorado for a second time. My husband asked me what States have surprised me (like what states did I anticipate something different than what they really were) and Colorado was one for me. I mean, we did not go way up North, but I have seen Dumb and Dumber enough times to believe all of Colorado was one big Asssssspen! However, the entrance into Colorado from Kansas was quite different, not even a hill in sight let alone mile high peaks.

image

image

But as we continued on Westward into Denver, the skyline did take shape.

image

image

image

We spent one night in Colorado and woke up the next morning to this beautiful sight.

image

As we neared our drop off locations, hills and mountains began to take shape.

image

Pikes Peak is one to admire (fairly) up close. When it was off in a hazy distance,  I was unimpressed,  but while James handled paperwork inside one of the Pods locations, I stepped right outside the truck and got this majestic shot.

image

I didn’t take many pictures of Wyoming, because while I do feel it is a beautiful state, I also feel like I’ve been  through it enough as of now to not see quite the urgent awe I had the first couple of times. I am still amazed by the elevation though.

image

Okay, I’ll let you in on a little secret, I was playing with the camera settings on my phone while in Nevada and came up with some pretty cool photos so I added lots of them. Otherwise, for me, I’ve seen Nevada enough, it’s like my new California!

image

But at the same time, the well known history of Nevada still intrigues me. I will often Google cities in Nevada as we are going through them to find the history.

image

We stopped in Fernley for the night and went from gorgeous skies like this

image

That turned into dark rain filled clouds that poured down on us. As we sat in the shelter of the truck, we saw the sky light up with lightning off in the distance several times.

image

The next day was mostly sunny and made for good traveling.

image

We have seen this “house” many times before and I believe I posted a photo of something next to it in a previous post. This structure is made up of animal bones and antlers. I am expecting to see Rob Zombie out front watering the dead grass with a bottle of whiskey one day. It is creepy but even more so intriguing!

Leave a Reply

