PA, MD, KS, MO, IN

The history of the North East is fascinating. For me, it’s seeing majestic red brick buildings, sprawling farm land and even decaying architecture of yesteryear.
When I heard we would be passing through Pennsylvania I was especially excited. My beloved late grandmother had told us stories of her family owning a home in Montrose, Pennsylvania in the 1800’s and that Camptown was founded by my great ancestors, the Camps. My Grandma T (as I lovingly called her when I was a child) was so special to me and having lost her a few years ago, my heart longed to be in the place her family was from. My Grandmother’s home, as well as my own parents home was/is adorned with antique furniture from the Camp House. I was even able to get some photographs from my Aunt Julie (thank you so much Auntie!) of my Grandmother and Great Aunts Carol and Bliss visiting the home some years ago.

image

image

image

image

      Here is the headstone of my Great
      Grandparents;  Byron and Ella.
(Interesting side note;  my husband and I had discussed names for our future children and I have always loved the name Ella.  I hadn’t realized it was my Great Grandmother’s name and when I had told my family that if we should be blessed with a daughter one day, her name would be Ella (we would spell is Ellah and give her my grandmother’s middle name, Rose) they told me my Aunt Bliss’ real name is Ella Bliss.)             

Unfortunately our route did not allow us to be near Montrose to see the home, but or route did render beautiful scenery and photos!

image

image

image

image

image

We then traveled to Maryland. I love capturing photos of baseball parks!

image

We have been to Kansas before, but I definitely saw some different things I didn’t catch before!

image

image

image

Next was Missouri, another state we had traveled through, but this time we took a slightly different route so we got to see more.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

We took our 34 hour reset in Indiana and across the street was a plant nursery with brightly painted animal statues in the front.

image

image

image

image

We had picked up our load of Pods in New Jersey and had to take them to Colorado so we spent nearly a week just driving and stopping at various truck stops to sleep. I often lost track of where we were after traveling so many miles.

Leave a Reply

