Heading back East

We spent three weeks in Nevada and California and now that we are back on the open road I feel like a caged bird no more! While family and roots lie in California for both my husband and I, we have both found we thrive on the long roads flanked by jutted mountains of rock and rolling fields of green. We have driven through Utah, Wyomimg and Nebraska over the last few days and I feel renewed.
Nevada did give us a spectacular light show. I am both in awe and fright when I see lightning strike from the cold gray sky. That is what I love about nature’s uncontrollable gifts, it makes us realize how small we are compared to our Earth and its abilities.

image

I took a video of a series of lightning bolts and was able to cut this gorgeous picture from it to share with you. As rain fell hard against the windshield and wind caused our rig to sway just enough to raise goose bumps on my arms, I found myself in prayer that we would make it safely out of the storm.

image

I have seen these “structures” many times before but never had I been able to photograph them until now (which still does not do them justice). Their obscurity would make me immediately pull over if I were in a 4 wheeler, just to study them a bit longer. Made of materials found in the Earth, someone made two shelters. The one on the far right is made of various bones and adorned with skulls of animals.

We were greeted by a canopy of clouds as we entered Utah and the salt flats. I had only been through this area at night before during a full moon which is a sight in itself, but seeing the flats in daylight, I realized they aren’t as pretty as when glowing beneath a radiant moon.

image

image

Wyoming was as breathtaking as always; vibrant blue sky adorned with white puffy clouds. I stared out the window for moments at a time as the long road stretched before us.

image

image

And all at once, the sky turned dark and rain began to fall. Without a single flake falling on our windshield to alert us, we came upon a section of freshly fallen snow.

image

image

And within moments, the only remains of that cell was the dampened ground

image

We woke up and said good bye to Wyoming and were greeted by a beautiful Nebraska sky as we continued our trek East.

image

I had been worried the Interstate would be littered will holiday weekend travelers, however, we found it to be quite opposite. We have enjoyed this trip thus far and want to take a moment to thank the men and women who have and still do protect our country which has continued to allow us our freedom. Happy Memorial Day to all of you!

Leave a Reply

