UT, ID, WA

Our next drop was scheduled for Washington, to get there we have to go through Utah again. This time the scenery wasn’t quite as inspiring, perhaps it was because of all of the new frontier of nature around us in the Southeast. We traveled a different route through Utah so we didn’t get to see the salt lands. It was somewhat mountainous; rusty colored earth peeking out from under stoic green pines. Am I becoming jaded by my travels? Nah, I have learned that each state has something unique about it and we have many more to go!
image
image

image

image

My unimpressed view of Utah did not overshadow our anticipation to travel to Idaho to visit James’s grandmother. We were very excited that she was taking us back to her home where we got to meet her pack of dogs, her daughter and two grandchildren. From the moment we arrived 1 of her four legged housemates seemed to take a shine to me and in return I give her a piece of my heart.
image

As we visited with Grandma Ros and the rest of the family I begin building a plot in the back of my mind on how to get French Fry into my oversized purse, but I knew her family would miss her greatly so decided to nix that idea.
image

We continued on toward Washington by way of a small section in Oregon and a stretch of windy, steeply graded road called the Cabbage Patch. James had told me about this road which he had driven during his over the road training.
image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image
While another rig in front of us rode his breaks (causing them to smoke heavily), James took it like a veteran. I admit, I did spend several moment conversing with God and white knuckling the interior door handle.
image

I have wanted to travel through Washington for quite some time now, my imagination fueled by television and movies of how beautiful the state is and the land of evergreens did not disappoint! I am an admirer of bodies of water, be they babbling brooks or rushing rivers and the plethora of water dissolved my cellphone battery charge as I channeled my inner Ansel Adams.
image

image

image

image

image

After our drop in Washington, we headed back toward Oregon for a pick up. Sparked by episodes of the sketch comedy show Portlandia, I was eager to catch the sights of the shows namesake.
One contradicty compliment I have about OTR driving is being in such a large vehicle we are unable to travel down roads that lead to the small gems of each state and we often only get to see fields and forest, however from the interstate you get a vantage point view of the cityscape. Once again we were welcomed by water as well as the towering buildings that make up Portland.
image

image

image

image

image

If I had to, I would consider myself more of a small town girl, seeing all of the byways and highways of downtown at once scare the heck out of me but being able to see it from atop the interstate, large cities amaze me.

Leave a Reply

