GA, SC, NC

image

Here is a map in the back of our pocket truck stop guide that I have been hilighting as we have gone through each state. We stayed in Florida for almost a week and while we didn’t get to go to Disney World or any other major attractions,  I got to see 2 alligators which made it all worth while.
On our way to Idaho for our next drop, we went through Georgia.

image

I didn’t take very many pictures that day of our travels because my allergies were terrible and I wasn’t focused enough. The scenery was beautiful, but I always envisioned red brick paved roads, weeping willows and white pillared buildings everywhere; none of which I got to see from the Interstate.

image

image

After Georgia, we stopped in West Columbia, South Carolina, where my husband is from. It was fulfilling for me to see James get excited about pointing out the places he used to work (there were a lot of them) as well hearing about memories he had. We got to have dinner with James’ older brother, Shaun and his girlfriend,  Sherri. I was so happy to finally meet Sherri after several years of conversing via Facebook. We had dinner at Cafe Strudel which had very cute decor and a funky cafe vibe. His brother had duck nachos (something I have never heard of). I had a veggie burger, James had a regular burger and we shared duck fat fries (which I was very nervous to try, but ended up enjoying) and a salad.

image

image

image

James pointing at a place he used to work

image

                    James, Shaun & PJ

image

We went through North Carolina as well, which was a beautiful green drive.

image

image

image

image

image

Despite knowing such catastrophic weather is prominent in the East, I am falling in love with the lush green foliage (as my alleriges scream “no you’re not!”) And the small town feel of these states.  We also have encountered some of the nicest, most courteous people since leaving Florida. When we go into truck stops, the men hold open doors and gesture me to go ahead of them. A lady can get used to this kind of treatment 🙂

Leave a Reply

