Been on the move!

I apologize that it has been so many days since my last post. We sure have been on the move and I made sure to photograph everything! We have traveled through Arizona, New Mexico, Texas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama and we are now in Florida. In all of my 35 years I have visited only three other states and over the course of the last week and a half I have added 7 more.

image

image

image

image

Texas sure surprised me with how green it was. In my imagination, I saw it as a dusty sparsely vegetated cowboy town. One thing I can surely say is that Texans are very proud of their state; it seemed every mile or so was another Texas state flag waving in the wind, usually accompanied Old Glory.

image

image

image

image

image

Louisiana’s Welcome Center was so charming, the structures were beautiful and surely made you feel right at home. There were many people at this rest stop, it was there I realized I was far from home; the hospitality and definitive accents made me wish I had a part time home in this beautiful state. My best friend moved to Lake Charles from California, the cultural history of the state has always made me want to visit. For both reasons, I intend to return.

image

image

image

image

Our time in Mississippi and Alabama was quite short since we were just driving through to get to Florida,  but the views were amazing to this California girl. My hair, on the other hand, was objecting to the humid weather we were passing through. My usual uncurlable straight locks transformed into a frizzy,  curled mop. It rained through both states most of time as well which did not help the state of my hair, but rendered that fresh earthy smell.

image

image

image

image

As we entered Florida,  James called his dispatch manager to let him know we would not be making it to Jacksonville by the 4pm deadline due to some rain.  His manager responded that he planned for us to first stop somewhere on I 10 for a 34 hour reset and be in Jacksonville on Monday. I have to say, the Pods dispatch managers (Patrick and Myles) are amazing. They have been so attentive to our load plans and have stayed true to their word that we would get loads with lots of miles.
One of the biggest disadvantages to traveling by semi truck is that when taking a 34 we cannot move the truck, there for any thing we want to do or any sites we want to see have to be within walking distance and it is not easy to find a truck stop that is centrally located to many attractions. Maybe there should be a truck stop in Disney World? Since the 34 was a surprise it did not give us much time to trip plan, but I do hope in the future we will be able to rent a car or take public transportation to see some of the amazing attractions all over this country. But this 34 was not bad at all, except that James seems to be coming down with a little bit of a cold. There was thunder and lightning as well as hard winds and some rain today so we stayed in, took a mid day nap (well, James did, the thunder and pelting rain kept me awake) and watched some movies from Redbox. Tomorrow we will head out to Jacksonville and then to Orlando and once those loads are done we will get our next trip plan.
I just have to say, this last week and a half has truly been exciting as well as educational for this California girl. And the best part is our journey has truly just begun and I cannot wait to see the rest of our country with my best friend, my husband, and the cutest trucker I know!

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

