Tips for the Lady’s Life on the Road: Pt. 6 Communication is Key

image

Being out on the road, a different place each day, it’s easy to get wrapped up in the journey. Keeping in contact with friends and family back home is important. I remember when my husband first left for the road and we had some tense conversations with short tempers and I told him (during quite an emotional state) it’s like he left me standing still to do my same daily routine while he was moving all over the place, seeing new things, and family can feel the same way once you go. I will admit, I’m not much of a “conversation over the phone” kind of person, but I think about my loved ones all the time. I decided the easiest way for me to reach all of the technologically savvy people in my life was a blog. This was a great way for me to document my journey and have it put out there for everyone to read. I also update my facebook periodically with photos or comments about places we are traveling. One fun thing I decided to do (before I even got on the truck) was that I would send my nephew postcards from each state we go through (once we go OTR). Postcards are a bygone form of communication and it seemed like the perfect thing for a child born in 2014.

image

It’s also important to keep the communication with the person sitting next to you. I know that sounds like an obvious one, but after spending nearly ever minute together every day, you find lots of silent moments (which is absolutely okay), you just don’t want to get into a habit of not sharing thoughts. While my husband is out of the truck on a load, I will send him a text of a silly google picture or a simple sweet message:

image

We also use apps on my phone with games of questions that can branch out into deeper conversation.  My parents (shout out to you mom and dad!) Got me an acrylic cube of “dinner table conversation starters” which I brought on the truck to play with my husband. We both loved it and I hope to find more! (Ours were questions pertaining to decades 60s-80s).

And lastly, keep in communication with yourself (and God if you’re so inclined). Journal your thoughts and ideas, sometimes you’re feeling a certain way that you just don’t feel like sharing with anyone else and having it written down can later show you how much you’ve grown or changed.

Leave a Reply

