Snowy Mountains and Green Hills

image

There is something amazingly serene about freshly blanketed mountains, the newly packed snow absorbs the echo of a diesel engine and tires on the highway.  I roll my window down and take in that crisp air as green tree tops peek out of the stark whiteness and I am amazed at Mother Nature’s capability to conclude a harsh dark snowstorm with blue skies and soft white covered mountains. The running waters of lakes and streams have succumbed to ice and I almost want to hold my breath to mimic the stillness of Winter.

image

image

image

image

The beauty of California is it’s diversity in weather. Just as we are surrounded by snow, our truck takes another highway and emerald green hills welcome us to the valley. Livestock is out enjoying the glow and warmth of the sun and eating fresh green alfalfa. The world seems alive, bustling with birds and swaying trees. The blue sky is dusted with cottony clouds that seem to glow with the sun’s rays and again I’m rolling down the window and put my sunglasses on to enjoy Mother Nature.

image

image

image

The excitement with each new highway and city makes me hope we are Over the Road sooner than later. I am anxious to expierence Springtime in the Mid West, Fall in the East and no matter where we are in between, I know it will be just as beautiful! I have traveled more miles of California highways in the last month while on the truck with my husband than I have in my 35 years as a born and raised California girl.

Leave a Reply

