Days Run Together

I have to say, one of the most wonderful aspects of being a full time passenger on a big rig is that I needn’t worry about what day it is. The part my trucker has to worry about is the date; each load sheet will have the date and sometimes he will have a run that spans over two days, but neither of us have been dreading Sunday nights due to the impending “Monday Blues”.

image

Our “weekends” are never Saturday and Sunday, James is supposed to get 34 hours off after every 70 hours worked, but sometimes our days aren’t full days so his hours will roll over for many days after. And Hump Day? Well, yeah we have those, but it isn’t reserved just for Wednesdays (yowza)! The only time I inquire of the day of the week is to see how close we are to payday.

image

I try to be as helpful as I can with my trucker’s tasks; helping to fill out paperwork, calculating the weight of his load, looking things up for him as he drives (okay, and give the ocassional middle finger salute to a more than needy four wheeler). But my favorite thing to do is put on music and watch the world coast by as we go from city to city. I have quite an eclectic taste in music, but there is a certain genre that tends to get my creative juices flowing like a white rapid; 70’s music, mostly pieces by Jackson Browne, James Taylor, Bread, etc. Whenever I am engulfed in their lyrics, I come up with ideas for stories to write, especially as we are traveling (may be working on a sort of autobiographical trinket?) I thought I’d share some of yesterday’s playlist with my dear readers:
Air Supply- “Every Woman in the World”
Seals & Crofts- “We May Never Pass This Way Again”
Bread- “It Don’t Matter to Me”
John Denver- “Annie’s Sing”
James Taylor- “Her Town Too”
Dan Fogelberg- “Leader of the Band”

image

image

image

image

image

And then I begin to photograph the beauty around us,  truly appreciating the fact that this is what I get to do every day. I am beyond blessed for the path God has given me and wouldn’t give it up for a thing right now!

image

Leave a Reply

