1.28.15

Our day really didn’t start out until around noon, James’ load schedule sent us to Freemont (on a truck restricted road, but James handled it like a pro!), and then we had two drops in San Jose. While he was taking care of business, so was I- our little home on wheels is nearly put together, I have practically mastered stepping on the edge of the bed with one foot while my other is two feet higer on a ledge and I can balance pretty well so I can use both hands to move things on the top bunk. (I will get into more detail later with how we creatively use storage space!) But now, for some pictures from the road… I decided to go all Ansel Adams this time- felt a little artsy haha.

image

This is my hottie trucker filling out the load sheets before we left the yard. Sexiest trucker I’ve ever seen… but he hasnt been trucking long enough to get the Grizzly Adams look yet! (And won’t ever if I can help it!)

image

image

image

image

These are pictures of the yard and the main road. I didn’t expect the yard to look so sterile. What I mean is, everything is perfectly set, there are only a couple of buildings on the yard and the only things for truckers outside of sitting in their truck is a minimal sized breakroom with a few round tables, a couple vending machines and gender segregated restrooms with multiple stalls and a shower… I hope I don’t ever have to use that shower, to know a stranger is sitting on the pot in a stall next to me while I’m showering is a little too much!  (Totally never had to shower after gym in high school so have a little phobia as an adult!) The cool part about this yard’s location is there are wild mustang around (as you may be able to see). James said a couple have wandered onto the yard before!

image

Beautiful snow capped mountains in the Sierra this morning was a wonderful start to our day (I’m such a scenery girl!)

image

We stopped off in Dutch Flat again for lunch of chicken strips, they cook them on site so they were hot, juicy and crunchy!

image

image

image

image

Here are some pictures going over a bridge. The sun was setting and traffic began to get thick.

image

Had a few moments of door grabbing, hissing through gritted teeth as idiots swooped in front of us and slammed their breaks on, but my trucker kept his cool making me so proud!
This is a big reason for me doing this, joining him on the road, to see how amazing he is at hauling a 53 foot trailer through commute traffic, winding mointains with steep grades and managing hairpin turns and then looking over at  me with a smile… he was born to do this (he said that to me a few minths ago) and that sealed the deal. I couldn’t be happier to sleep in a twin sized bed every night with him, to sit in the passenger seat for usually up to 6 hours straight and about 14 hours a day. This is true bliss!

Leave a Reply

