My Maiden Voyage

image

Today was my first official day on the truck with my husband.  The ride was a lot smoother than I anticipated it being! First point of excitement was the truck scales!  We had an empty trailer so we crept our way through. It was nice to talk side by side with my husband instead of on the phone.

image

We stopped at Dutch Flat for a potty break (I’m sure truckers call it something else!) And James surprised me with the most amazing chicken strips and honey buttered biscuit I’ve ever tasted. I totally recommend stopping there!

image

I am so happy to be next to my husband… finally!

image

You wouldn’t believe how giddy I was to see snow… I’m so urban! As I called out each new patch of the mostly slushy white aftermath of forgotten storms, my wonderful husband would just reply in monotone “yes baby, more snow.”

image

I’ve got like 10 of these suckers right here!

image

We made our way into Nevada and while Reno is pretty much Las Vegas’ second cousin twice removed, I couldn’t help but hear Elvis’ muffled voice from the grave humming “Viva Las Vegas”.

image

We got to the yard just after dark and while my husband diligently filled out his paperwork, he took a moment to make us a cup of noodle with one of my new favorite gadgets; the Hamilton Beach Scoop single served coffee maker, using just the hot water. It did the trick and after not eating all day, was satisfying enough for a trucker! He then got his next load assignment and no sooner had the engine idled out, we were on the road again.

image

3 hours later and in the Wal Mart parkinglot, we are shut down for the night. Decided to pick up this little beauty; a lunchbox stove.

image

No, that’s not a bun in my oven, its mac ‘n cheese the truckers way! Don’t worry, I know you’re thinking “wow, that’s a carb filled day!” But we are going to try out our Ninja for smoothies soon! Plan to incorporate salads and pure fruit/vegetable smoothies very soon! So I bid you all a pleasant Saturday night, time to eat and off to bed, more adventures
await us tomorrow!

5 thoughts on “My Maiden Voyage

  1. Hi, James and Christina! The words can’t possibly express how happy to see your post knowing you are following your heart and you have started your new journey with positive outlook and much preparation. How wonderful to see the pictures of snow patches, for I haven’t been to snow for a few years. I would love to visit Reno one of these years ( been to Las Vegas but never met Elvis). I am sure you will hit every bit of those truckers ‘ s heaven ( truck stops) to eat amazing food. Boy, you are living in my dream, as we have talked before. Please take care! Looking forward to many more wonderful pictures and posts. Woohoo!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. congratulations! So glad you two are able to be together. I know this life change has been in the works for awhile. Keep us informed about where you are, etc, Will be praying for you two for safe travels Love and hugs.
    .

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

